Last weekend I woke up in the mood for muffins.  I thought I should be able to find a recipe that matched what I had in my cupboard but I couldn’t.  Usually when I start substituting like crazy, whatever I end up with is still ok if a little meh.  But these muffins turned out great!  So I thought I better write it down and share it with my readers (which I think is only one at this point).

Ingredients: 

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup Florida crystals sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 large very ripe banana
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries (I had a little less, just what was left in the freezer)

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 350.  Place paper cups in a 12 muffin pan.
  2. In large bowl, beat eggs, oil, sour cream, water, and almond extract with wire whisk until well blended.
  3. In smaller bowl, blend flour, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon.
  4. Add dry ingredients to the large bowl.  Stir just until dry ingredients are moistened.
  5. Mash up banana.  Add banana and blueberries to batter.
  6. Divide evenly among the 12 muffin cups in the pan (about 3/4 full).
  7. Bake 20 to 25 minutes.

These were super yummy!

